Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Ky.gov An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky

Energy and Environment Cabinet

Sun through the clouds - Photograph provided by Shutterstock

Division for Air Quality
Air Quality Branches

The Division for Air Quality is the state agency primarily responsible for enforcing the state and federal air quality standards in the Commonwealth of Kentucky with the goal of protecting public health and welfare. To achieve that goal, the division operates a multi-faceted program with staff performing separate but interrelated tasks. The Division for Air Quality is organized into the following sections:

Director's Office

Sean Alteri, Director
E-mail: sean.alteri@ky.gov

Melissa Duff, Assistant Director
E-mail: melissa.duff@ky.gov

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Staff 

Field Operations Branch

VACANT, Manager                            Diana Davidson, Complaints Coordinator  
E-mail:                                             E-mail: diana.davidson@ky.gov

Branch Responsibilities:

  • Inspect air emission sources.
  • Operate air quality monitors.
  • Enforce state and federal air quality regulations.
  • Initiate enforcement action against violators of air quality regulations.
  • Receive and investigate air quality complaints.
  • Maintain and update department records concerning citizen complaints, release reporting and emergency response.
  • Provide technical assistance and training to the regulated community and the general public.
  • Inspect asbestos removals and schools' asbestos-management practices.
  • Certify asbestos-abatement professionals.
  • Review schools' asbestos management plans.
  • Review facilities' risk-management plans for hazardous chemicals.
  • Certify that tank trucks do not leak. 

NOTE: The air quality program for Jefferson County is administered by the Louisville Metro Air Pollution Control District, 701 W. Ormsby Ave., Suite 303, Louisville, KY 40203, telephone: 502-574-6000 and FAX: 502-574-5306.

Permit Review Branch

Rick Shewekah, Environmental Scientist Consultant; E-mail: rick.shewekah@ky.gov
Sreenivas Kesaraju, P.E., Environmental Engineer Consultant; E-mail: sreenivas.kesaraju@ky.gov
James "Jim" Morse, Environmental Scientist V; E-mail: james.morse@ky.gov


Section Supervisors

Durga Patil, Chemical Section; E-mail: durga.patil@ky.gov
Elizabeth "Beth" Mattingly, Mineral Section; E-mail: elizabeth.mattingly@ky.gov
Benjamin Matar, Combustion Section; E-mail: benjamin.matar@ky.gov
Amy Tempus-Doom, Metallurgy Section; E-mail: amy.tempus-doom@ky.gov
Shauna Switzer, Permit Support Section; E-mail: shauna.switzer@ky.gov
Ben Cordes, Air Dispersion Modeling Section; E-mail: ben.cordes@ky.gov
Sajjad Quabili, Surface Coating Section; E-mail: sajjad.quabili@ky.gov

Branch Responsibilities:

  • Review applications from sources requiring permits to discharge pollutants into the ambient air in Kentucky. 
  • Assists companies subject to state and/or federal air quality regulations by providing guidance during pre-application meetings. Issues permits that include all significant emission points and specify conditions under which a company may operate. For major sources, a 30-day public comment period is provided on draft permit determinations. 
Technical Services Branch

John Gowins, Manager; E-mail: john.gowins@ky.gov
Tim Smith, Environmental Scientist V; E-mail: tim.smith@ky.gov
Jennifer Miller, Environmental Scientist V; E-mail: jenniferf.miller@ky.gov


Section Supervisors

VACANT, Source Sampling Section; E-mail:
VACANT, Quality Assurance Section; E-mail:
Wayne Bray, Technical Support Section; E-mail: wayne.bray@ky.gov

Branch Responsibilities:

  • Plan, support operation of the air monitoring network, maintain data acquisition network.
  • Observe and evaluate tests performed on air pollution sources to determine compliance with air emission standards.
  • Conduct quality assurance programs for ambient and in-stack continuous emission monitoring systems.
  • Prepare and issue the Kentucky Ambient Air Quality Annual Report. Oversee the Air Quality Index http://eppcapp.ky.gov/daq/
Program Planning and Administration Branch

Vacant, Manager;  E-mail:
Martin Luther, Environmental Scientist V; E-mail:  martin.luther@ky.gov
Kelly Lewis, Environmental Scientist IV; E-mail: kelly.lewis@ky.gov


Section Supervisors

Margaret Hunter, Emissions Inventory Section; E-mail: margaret.hunter@ky.gov
Joy Moll, Administration Section; E-mail: joy.moll@ky.gov 
Leslie Poff, Evaluation Section; E-mail: lesliem.poff@ky.gov 
Cassandra Jobe, Regulation Section; E-mail: cassandra.jobe@ky.gov

Branch Responsibilities:

  • Prepare the State Implementation Plan to achieve and maintain national and state air quality standards.
  • Draft and process air pollution control regulations.
  • Monitor progress toward achieving the division's objectives.
  • Measure trends in the reduction of emissions and improvement in air quality.
  • Prepare and monitor the division's air quality management plan.
  • Evaluate division programs and recommend necessary improvements.
  • Prepare and monitor federal grants and division budgets. 
  • Coordinate administrative functions for the division.
  • Prepare and issue emissions inventory reports.