Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky

Energy and Environment Cabinet

Air Quality

Division for Air Quality
DAQ News and Events

Other news as it relates to the Division for Air Quality 

There are many kinds of air pollution, and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency calculates the Air Quality Index (AQI) for five major air pollutants regulated by the Clean Air Act. They include ground-level ozone, particle pollution, carbon monoxide, sulfur dioxide and nitrogen dioxide. Ozone and particle pollution are the two most commonly found pollutants in Kentucky.  Being air aware is a key to protecting the health of sensitive populations - including children, the elderly and those who work, exercise or play outdoors.